Boys, be brave, speak

I told a woman I thought she was cute, and she smiled. Yea, it’s not out of this world amazing, and I’m sure a million girls were told they were some type of wonderful this weekend by a boy who wanted to kiss her, but this weekend, I told a girl, and she smiled. 

Brace the uncomfortable, it’s not meant to be easy. I never, and I mean ever, tell women I’m interested in them. Growing up I have always been a shy guy, keeping to myself, better at one-on-ones, and it hit me this weekend… just go for it, just say what you want to say, and hey, it may just be right. Who’d a thunk it? 
Breath. Things will be ok. Not everyone is going to be a glowing example of positivity when you do this. That’s ok, we aren’t all meant to get along with each other. Not everyone is compatiable, and that happens. A no, is just another way of finding out someone is wrong for you. Guys, it’s ok, get rejected, you’ll thank me later. 
Believe in yourself. You may sound funny, or think you don’t look so great, but so does a lot of other people, and guess what, they are trying to do there best. Without communication, or effort, we will never see what those ‘maybe’ moments could have been. Why regret later that you didn’t say “hey, look, I saw you the other night with our friends and was having a hard time looking away…. you’re so cute, I just had to tell you that.” 
Sometimes, those stuttering words can be the ice breaker to a great conversation, a new friend, or a memorable moment. Speak up, give failure a chance, because without risking it, you’ll always be comfortable. The exciting stuff doesn’t find you when you’re sitting on a couch or playing video games all day, it’s at a bonfire by the lake, or on the hillside star gazing, or at a Bar-B-Q with friends when that uncomfortable situation shows itself. Embrace the challenge, face your fear, she’s only one girl, you won’t know until you do. Give it a chance, find peace in knowing what those ‘what ifs’ could have been from now on.

Sincerely, 

a shy poet
                

Leave a Reply

