“Promise Me…”

By: James Fristik IV

 

Say it will be alright, promise me tonight

Say it will be okay, promise me today

Promise, everything will be all right

Promise, I keep the ones I make

 

Lie down and share the secrets, be the feeling that’s been missing

Put your hands to mine, tell me now; feel the pulse of your heart beat

Promises, more intimate than the lips embrace before kissing

Bridging concern with a counselor, where hope brings people to meet

Believing that sharing this deep trust with another, has meaning

Relying on the other person to be faithful to their word

Promises, like a lover’s kiss, can leave a smile that’s beaming

Truth and trust; a bond to follow up on, of what you just heard

 

Promises, broken by the very people closest; hurting us

Whether forgotten or devalued, trust begins to fade

I try not to promise, when I’m falling for someone via lust

Never made a promise, while I was getting laid

Once broken, our thoughts are, it’ll always be the same

Words stringed together, with no guarantee that it will be

Mislabeled a lie, as guys try to promise into the pants of a dame

Promises are a bond, a trust that you and I have chosen to agree

 

Say it will be alright, promise me tonight

Say it will be okay, promise me today

Promise, everything will be all right

Promises, I keep the ones I make

 

Leave a Reply

